Translate

Featured Post

Disclaimer/Copyright Notice

All reviews and opinions shared on The Faerie Review are mine alone. I accept books in exchange for a fair and honest review as well as rev...

Friday, December 15, 2017

Cover Reveal: Running from Disaster

 

 Running From Disaster (Sunrise Runners Duology Book 1)
Aubrey Parr


Romantic Suspense



Bite Me Graphics


"Running from Disaster is book one in Aubrey Parr’s Sunrise Runners duology.”

There’s a predator on the loose and he’s abducting runners. Becoming more sinister with each of his victims, Gabriella Winters’ running group was not going to let fear stop them. They needed to run every morning at sunrise. Running was vital to their lives.

Just when Gabriella needed a distraction from the horrors surrounding her, Dylan Hart arrived. He’s a walking disaster for relationships, his track record with women has proven it. Still, Gabriella couldn’t stay away. Everything about him pulled her in. Dylan wanted nothing more than to have her in his life, but he wasn’t sure how to be the man she deserved.

How can they navigate their relationship when Dylan doesn’t play by the rules? Can they survive what the world throws at them?



Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/BandNRFD


 Aubrey Parr writes contemporary romance and romantic suspense, but is digger deeper into her darker side. She lives outside of Chicago with her husband, daughter and houseful of pets. Though inspired by her great-uncle, author Evan S. Connell, Aubrey didn't publish her first novel until after turning forty. Now there's no turning back. She drinks coffee until it's acceptable to have wine and loves to travel. She's always planning her next trip. When Aubrey isn't writing, she can be found with a book in her hand.


Thursday, December 14, 2017

Release Day Blitz: Missing Home

Title: Missing Home
Author: Stephany Tullis
Genre: Literature & Fiction - Religious & Inspirational Fiction - Inspirational
Contemporary Fiction – Religious – Christian – Clean Romance
Publisher: Diamond TK Publishing
Hosted by: Lady Amber’s PR
Blurb:
When Dr. Jared Johnson's research project collapses, so does he. He tosses the funding rejection letter in his office wastebasket and his plans to marry the love of his life out the window.
The last thing he wants to do is return to his home town, Chandlerville, Kentucky. An unexpected call from his grandmother, a lifelong resident of the small town, convinces him that all things indeed happen for a reason and perhaps this is the right time to reestablish his roots and start anew.
When he arrives--single, with no intent to marry, he's shocked to learn that the town has unanimously approved his pastoral appointment to the newly refurbished 100-year-old Baptist church. Despite his divinity training, Jared never intended to pastor a church—not when his specialty is psychological profiling. 
As fate would have it, the evil spirits that begin to permeate the town and its good-hearted citizens shortly after his arrival challenge his technical skills, experience and community relationships. To complicate matters, a local angel finds herself in the eye of the storm causing Jared to re-evaluate his past and question his future.
In my world, there is no life without writing, traveling, family, music and my love of politics. My loves and interests are central to my writing.
I published my first novel The Master's Plan, A Novel in November 2013 (Edition 3 issued in 2016) and my first Christmas novel, 48 Hours 'Til Christmas, in November 2014. In 2015, I released Love, Peace & Joy: 3 Short Stories.
BLUE LADY (a short story) published in February 2015 launched my first series, The Angelica Mason Series. The first full installment in this series, entitled BLUE LADY'S Sweet Dreams was released July 2016 to be followed by BLUE LADY'S Mission Impossible in 2018.
In June 2016, I launched my second series (B.B.B.) with a novella entitled, Beach Baby Blues (part of an 11 author Beach Anthology, Stories of Sun, Sand and Sea). I hope to publish the sequel in this new series, entitled, Baby Boomer Blues by July 2017.
The sequel to The Master's Plan, entitled, Forgive, Forgotten, Forever is scheduled for release in the Fall of 2017.
           
I am pleased to partner with my friend and fellow author, PJ Fiala to sponsor the Chandler County multi-branded author series and will soon be releasing two books in this series. Missing Pieces is currently on pre-order with an April 11th 2017 release date and my second book in this new series is entitled Missing Chances and will be released in November 2017. Nine other authors will publish their books in this exciting endeavor during 2017. All books are based on our fictional towns, Chandlerville and Bourbonville Kentucky, 'where the unbridled spirit of romance roams'.
I live in Georgia with my family where I continue to write professionally and have published on Examiner.com as Atlanta's Society and Culture Examiner and in various health related peer review journals.
Author Links:
Buy Links:

Monday, December 11, 2017

Rasputin's Legacy


His Code Name Is Atcho, a Cuban-born West Point graduate. He is the only covert operative on earth to be trusted by both the President of the United States and the Premier of the Soviet Union. A chance meeting of Rasputin, a mysterious monk with the daughters of the last Czar deep in the forests of Russia sets in motion cataclysmic events that surface 70 years later. Atcho finds himself battling a mysterious religious sect, the KGB, the Soviet military, and the Communist Party to save the National Power that had kept him imprisoned for more than 19 years – and he must do it without help or assistance from US intelligence resources. Failure would result in placing the full nuclear capabilities and military might of the Soviet Union into the hands of a madman bent on world domination.

Rating: 5 out of 5 fairies






Review: I spent a lot of time trying to find the right words to express how I feel about this book. It makes you feel like you're right in the midst of a cold war action thriller, but not in a cheesy-over-the-top Hollywood effects way. More of a gritty, seat-of-your-pants, heart pounding, spy versus spy. This adds a new dimension to the cold war, as the reader races with Atcho and team against the clock to stop a psychotic spy who's back from the dead, and who isn't afraid to pick up some revenge on his way to fulfilling his destiny, as leader of the world.

Buy the Book....
Amazon.co.uk   Amazon.com    Barnes and Noble   Kobo   Paperback

"Pure Gold!" CarmineZozzora, Producer of Die Hard with a Vengeance and Color of Night.

 "Espionage, subterfuge ... absolutely stunning...." Midwest Book Review.

 "Wow!. A must read." Joe Galloway, NYT Bestselling Author of We Were Soldiers Once...and Young (adapted to a Mel Gibson movie) and We Are Soldiers Still.

 "Riveting! Thrilling ..." Kris"Tanto" Paronto, Hero of Benghazi, Bestselling Author of The Ranger Way.

 "With this page-turning thriller, Lee connects the brooding mystic Rasputinto the Cold War, traces his dark influence into the present, and makesit relevant to today's churning world events. Stunning!" Bill Thompson, Editor of Stephen King's Carrie and John Grisham's The Firm.

 "Clearly one of the best books of historical fiction I have ever read. Extremely entertaining and educational at the same time." Lieutenant-General RickLynch (Retired), former Commanding General, 3rd Infantry Division during the Surge in Iraq.



Also Available in the Cold War Series
Curse The Moon
Lee Jackson Brings Heat To The Cold War.

His code-name is Atcho. He leads guerrilla fighters through the US-supported insurgency that rages at the Bay of Pigs in the early days of Fidel Castro’s Cuba. Captured and cast into the island’s worst dungeons, Atcho learns that a phantom-like officer of the Soviet KGB shadows him. Inexplicably released from incarceration and still dedicated to his country, he battles through the bowels of the Kremlin in Moscow, into the granite halls at West Point, and finally to highest levels in Washington, DC. Atcho’s rise opens doors into US National Defense even as the seemingly omniscient KGB officer holds unflinching sway over his actions. His public life clashes with secrets that only he and his tormentor share, isolating him in a world of intrigue among people whom he is determined not to betray – and then he finds that he is the trigger that could spark thermonuclear war.

Buy the Book....

"Splendid! A page-turner." Joe Galloway, NYT Best Selling Author..

“Atcho is at his best…when taking names and kicking ass. Highly enjoyable…” ~ Kirkus Reviews

"Curse the Moon has it all, packaging its tense thriller in the cloak of understanding motivations both political and personal. It's all about danger, sacrifice, and how even would-be romance bows to the pressure of a covert operator's obligations." D. Donovan, eBook Reviewer, Midwest Book Review



THE STORY BEHIND THIS BOOK

“There is much in “Curse The Moon” that is based on real events, and two of the primary characters, Atcho and his daughter, Isabel, were actually based on my father-in-law and my wife. In fact, the code-name “Atcho” is my father-in-law’s real nickname. He fought in the counterrevolution against Castro, was imprisoned after the Bay of Pigs, and spent 17 years in some of Castro’s worst prisons. In the book, he is a composite character. Some of the fictional Atcho’s expoits were the real Atcho’s, and some were accomplished by others in the resistance. The real aspects in the book are the abject cruelty that the Castro regime imposed, and the intrepidity and courage that Cuban patriots exhibited in resisting him.
The other very real aspect was the relationship between both the real and fictional Atchos and their fictional and real respective daughters. Both grew up with their fathers having been stripped from their homes and country, and witnessed much of the savagery as little girls. That stayed with my wife such that, although on a cognitive basis she understood and was even proud of the courage of her father, on a deeper level, she suffered from his absence and felt a sense of having been abandoned – other men escaped Cuba with their families intact.
My initial motivation for writing the book was as a tribute to the real Atcho and my wife. In researching it, I found a story with all the elements of a thriller, and one that should be told: a near holocaust took place 90 miles south of Florida, and most Americans know nothing about it. Further, because of its strategic location just off the US coast, Cuba occupied an outsized place in the Cold War competition between the US and the Soviet Union. This story takes the Cuban revolution as its launching point, and then delves into the strained and often subtle relations between the two superpowers in the waining days of the Cold War. It questions the actions of John Kennedy, brings alive the charm, sternness, and personality of Ronald Reagan, and views Mikhail Gorbachev with curiosity.” ~ Lee Jackson
About the author
Image of Lee Jackson
Lee Jackson is a bestselling, award-winning thriller author. He was an Infantry officer with a front row seat on world affairs, and spent 38 months in Iraq and Afghanistan. His first book, Curse The Moon, was published in 5 countries, and follows Atcho, a counter-revolutionary leader in Cuba turned unwilling spy in the U.S. The odds he faces seem overwhelming as he must choose between saving the world from nuclear holocaust - or his daughter. In Lee’s second book, Rasputin's Legacy, Atcho faces a surreal challenge: he must save the country that enslaved his own, or deliver control of the Soviet nuclear apparatus into the hands of a maniac. Can he set aside his personal desire for revenge? Lee lives with his wife in Texas, and is a full time writer.

Find the author on the following sites...
Website   Facebook   Twitter   YouTube   Goodreads   Amazon Author Page
Receive WARTIME SOJOURNER – AFGHANISTAN for FREE and receive updates and Wartime Sojourner - Iraq when it is published - HERE

Follow the Book Tour
018836-glossy-silver-icon-symbols-shapes-square-2
I received this book through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, I have volunteered to share my review and all the opinions are 100% my own.

NOW FOR THE AUTHOR'S GIVEAWAY !!
2 WINNERS!!
Win a printed book of Curse The Moon or Rasputin's Legacy
(winners choice) 
Open US/CA/UK (or ebook worldwide)
Ending on Friday 22nd December at 11.59pm EST

Enter Below & Good Luck !!
Are you a book reviewer or book blogger? Join our book tours reviewers team - Apply Here x
Current book tours open for sign ups HERE




Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Power Struggle


NEW RELEASE….
One hit man who’s back for revenge.

One detective who’s not going down without a fight.

It’s been ten months since Detective Madison Knight almost died at the hands of Russian Mafia hit man Constantine Romanov. She hasn’t seen hide nor hair of him since he escaped police custody and fled to Russia soon after his arrest, except now her latest murder investigation gives her reason to believe he’s back in town. Seeing as the victim is the man who killed her grandfather, her perspective may be a little skewed, but with the MO smacking of Constantine and the victim’s connections to the mob, she finds it hard to be objective. Still, she’s doing her best to consider all the evidence.

When she receives a threatening letter from Constantine, however, her suspicions are confirmed. And he’s made it abundantly clear that not only does he plan to finish what he started but he has her family and loved ones in the crosshairs, too. Madison vows to do whatever it takes to save them, but as the hours race by, the body count rises. And the stakes only get higher when Madison’s sister, Chelsea, goes missing.

Now, Madison’s only play is to take Chelsea’s disappearance for what it really means: Constantine is calling Madison out for one final showdown. And they won’t both survive…

Rating: 4 out of 5 fairies






Review: An interesting thriller, with a great cast of characters. As a big fan of 'cop shows' I couldn't put this book down. In a race against time, Detective Knight is faced with tough calls and impossible odds. With an amazing cast at her side, will she be able to save those she loves and herself from a ruthless hitman?


Available to buy from...... 


WHAT TO EXPECT FROM 
THE DETECTIVE MADISON KNIGHT SERIES

Murder. Investigation. The pursuit of justice. Do you love trying to figure out whodunit? How about investigating alongside police detectives from the crime scene to the forensics lab and everywhere in between? Do you love a strong female lead? Then I invite you to meet Detective Madison Knight as she solves murders with her male partner, utilizing good old-fashioned investigative work aided by modern technology.

This is the perfect book series for fans of Law & Order, CSI, 

Blue Bloods, Rizzoli & Isles, Women’s Murder Club, 
and Hawaii Five-O.

Read in any order or follow the series from the beginning: Ties That Bind, Justified, Sacrifice, Found Innocent, Just Cause, Deadly Impulse, In the Line of Duty, Life Sentence (Bonus Prequel).


Read an excerpt



About the author
CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international best-selling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.

Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™. Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives just west of Toronto with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada.


Find the author on the following sites...

Follow the Book Tour
018836-glossy-silver-icon-symbols-shapes-square-2
I received this book through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, I have volunteered to share my review and all the opinions are 100% my own.

NOW FOR THE AUTHOR'S GIVEAWAY !!

Win $10 Paypal
Ending on 17 December at 11.59pm EST
Open Worldwide

Enter Below & Good Luck !!
Are you a book reviewer or book blogger? Join our book tours reviewers team - Apply Here x
Current book tours open for sign ups HERE


Tuesday, December 5, 2017

An Awfully Big Adventure



Seventeen-year-old Yoshita Ray has stopped believing in happily ever after and fairy tales ever since her mother abandoned her. But now that her father’s married again, Yoshita’s world is turned upside down by her new stepbrother, the ten-year-old true believer, Tanay Mukherjee.

On his tenth birthday, Tanay makes a wish which whisks them away to a magical land where all the fairy tale characters are real! While Yoshita wants to do nothing but leave this place behind, her stepbrother wants to stay.

Will the rather unfortunately timed adventure tear the stepsiblings apart or will it play a hand in bringing them closer together?

Join them on An Awfully BIG Adventure to find out!



Rating: 4 out of 5 fairies


Review:
A really fun read that explores whether the ties of family are bound by blood or by love, and how far that love can stretch in the face of the new and unexpected. Siblings by marriage, and on polar opposites of the spectrum of belief, this is one adventure that neither will ever forget. It's definitely a tale you don't want to miss out on!


About the Author:
Aniesha Brahma wanted to be an author since she was six years old. She was born and raised in Kolkata, India. She studied in Dolna Day School and completed her college degrees (including MPhil) in Comparative Literature from Jadavpur University. She works as a social media strategist/marketing executive, is the founder and editor of BUZZ Magazine and blogs (almost) regularly at www.anieshabrahma.com. Her debut novel was The Secret Proposal. It was followed by The Guitar Girl, When Our Worlds Collide and All Signs Lead Back to You. She has also worked on children’s books like P.C. Chandra’s Awesome Four and General Press’ Children’s Classic Stories. She was part of the UK-India 2017 India Wales’ The Valley, City and Village (VCV) Project and a speaker at Hay Festival 2017. Aniesha is extremely active on social media and you can get in touch with her by writing to her at contact@anieshabrahma.com.