Translate

Sunday, February 23, 2020






Born of Embers by Quinn Arthurs & Harper Wylde 
 Paranormal Romance


I always knew I was different.
I’d thought it had to be hidden - to stay a secret.
I didn’t know my secret would become the key to my survival.
Turning eighteen and getting accepted into college brings me everything I need to escape from the nightmares of my past but I never could have imagined my nightmares - and dreams - were just beginning. Finding myself thrown into a world of fantasy, politics, friendships, and rules that are nearly impossible to understand, I feel like I’m drowning in a world of shifters I never knew existed. As I struggle to find my place and prevent my nightmares from tearing me apart, I find myself surrounded by an unusual group of sexy men. With Hiro, Killian, Theo, Damien, and Ryder I’m trying to become the woman I’ve always wanted to be, if my past, and my future, will let me.

*Warning this book contains scenes and references of abuse that some readers may find triggering. This book also contains some m/m themes.*

Saturday, February 22, 2020

Inside the Mind: Blodwedd Mallory


Welcome to Inside the Mind where we here at The Faerie Review interview authors and creators.
Our guests today are Blodwedd Mallory and Amber, the minds behind The Black House.




Lily:  Thank you so much for agreeing to this interview Wedd. I see you’ve brought Amber McKee along as well. We loved reading The Black House, the prequel in your Unofficial Legends of The Secret World series. We’d like to talk a little about the book first. What was your inspiration to write the book/series?
Wedd:  Well, I thought people should know what was happening in the world! I know as a Templar I’m supposed to keep this stuff hush-hush, but Gaia needs all hands on deck right now, and it…
Amber: Let me break in here, Wedd. I think Lily is probably talking at a little more abstract level. Hi, Lily. Thanks for having us and thanks for reviewing The Black House. 
The inspiration for the series really swells from two places. First, of course, the fabulous Funcom game, The Secret World/Secret World Legends and a desire to write into that world and tell stories there, which they very graciously allowed me to do. 
The second requires a little explanation. I was approaching a particular milestone birthday and around the same time, filled up the hard drive on my work laptop. 
In that moment, I reflected on my aspirations to write a novel when I was younger and found myself suddenly furious. I was furious at the sheer volume of material that, while it certainly was my work, wasn’t representative of the writer I’d wanted to be when I grew up. 
So, I decided to write a book, which ended up being the first book in the series, To Sir, with Love
Lily:  That's a great reason! Do you have a favorite character?

Friday, February 21, 2020

Tour: The Empires of Luxor



Title: The Empires of Luxor City
Author: Sasha Hope
Publisher: NineStar Press
Release Date: February 3, 2020
Heat Level: 3 - Some Sex
Pairing: Male/Male
Length: 77400
Genre: Science Fiction/Fantasy, LGBT, futuristic, crime/thriller, family-drama, urban fantasy, alpha/omega, gangsters, criminal underworld, reunited, crossdressing, hurt/comfort

Add to Goodreads

Synopsis

In the aftermath of his father’s funeral, Dom Wesa, the new Alpha of Luxor City’s Central Empire, stumbles upon an Omega in desperate need of help. The Omega, Lin Vasiliev, wakes to find he’s been taken into Dom’s home to be rehabilitated. Dom thinks the young addict may have information about the illicit drug trade going on in his Empire. He gets Lin sober to question him only to discover that Lin is new in town and ignorant of Luxor’s laws.

Dom and Lin are both suspicious of each other at first for their own reasons, but as that wariness wears away a deep attraction develops between them. Dom dotes on Lin, leaving the once stone-broke Omega bathed in finery he never could have imagined. They start planning for Lin’s upcoming heat, when they will be driven together by their kindling bond and strong compatibility as an Alpha and Omega pair. However, in the midst of their swelling romance, Luxor’s most notorious Alpha reappears sparking a gang war that threatens to turn the entire city into a battleground.

Blitz: X-Rated

Xrated

Happy publication day to author Bridget Beasley! Today marks the release of her hilarious book, X-Rated! I have the first chapter for you to read AND the most amazing giveaway-- A chance to win a $50 Amazon gift card and a digital copy of the book!

Book Tour Cover Photo


X-Rated: A virgin. A porn star. A comedy.
Publication Date: February 21st, 2020 (Today 🎉)
Genre: Romcom/ Comedy

Bailey Finch is twenty-four, living in LA, and working for a trendy Sex & Relationships magazine as their entry-level Calendar Editor. She’s also painfully body-conscious, clinically anxious, and still a virgin. When Bailey lands the chance to interview Elijah Mattox – coined the Ryan Reynolds of Porn Stars – she seizes the opportunity to befriend the man behind over three-thousand BDSM films, with popular titles such as The Domination of Elia Rose, Dungeon Sluts and Whores of Riverdale County. As she delves deeper into Eli’s world, and their relationship takes an unexpected romantic turn, she realizes that this piece couldn’t possibly be just an interview. There was something much bigger yet to come. No pun intended. X-Rated: A virgin. A porn star. A comedy.

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Tour: When Stars Are Bright

WhenStarsareBright copy

I'm so excited to share this highly anticipated release with you all today! When Stars Are Bright is a YA fairy tale retelling of "Thumbelina" by author, Amber R. Duell. Read on for an exclusive excerpt and a chance to win a paperback copy of the book!


WhenStarsAreBright_Cover

When Stars Are Bright 
Publication Date: January 7th, 2020
Genre: Young Adult/ Fairy Tale Retelling
Publisher: Crescent Sea Publishing

For Lina Holt, a Dutch seventeen-year-old with a flair for singing, 1930 is going to be her year. Her long-time boyfriend is about to propose and her mother will finally realize their relationship isn’t a passing phase. But when a stranger snatches her from her backyard, everything changes. Lina is thrust into the spotlight of a New York vaudeville show where she’s paired with Nik, a mysterious pianist. The two bond during rehearsals and it doesn’t take long before Nik puts himself at risk to confess a hidden truth. Without Lina, the show is in its last season and there’s no way she’ll be allowed to slip through the owner’s fingers. Not when she carries fairy magic in her blood—an gift that turns her song into a dangerously addictive drug. If Lina ever wants to return home, she must learn who to trust before she’s forced to remain a prisoner on stage forever. WHEN STARS ARE BRIGHT is a historical Thumbelina retelling with a touch of magic.

Check it Out: Past Deeds







Past Deeds by Carolyn Arnold 
Adventure Mystery/Thriller

Some consequences can’t be predicted… 

A sniping takes place in Arlington, Virginia, less than fifteen minutes from Washington, D.C., and nets several minor injuries but only one casualty. FBI Agent Brandon Fisher and his team with the Behavioral Analysis Unit are called in to determine if the threat is still active and whether they’re looking at an act of terrorism, an isolated incident, or the first in a planned series of shootings. All that seems clear from the ground is they’re looking for a skilled sniper who is former military.

As the FBI investigates, one possible motive has Brandon battling his own demons as the consequences of past choices resurface with a vengeance. He will come to discover how one decision can not only haunt us for the rest of our lives, but spread out and have long- and far-reaching repercussions we couldn’t even begin to imagine.

Past Deeds will have you joining the FBI in following clues and unraveling the psyche of a killer. This book will make you think and reflect—and you just might wonder if any past decisions you’ve made are stalking you, ready to strike. 

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Kid's Korner: Tiny T. Rex and the Impossible Hug








Tiny T. Rex and the Impossible Hug
Written by  
Illustrated by  

Meet Tiny, a diminutive but determined T-Rex in a big world, as he embraces all obstacles against him in his quest to learn how to hug.

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Tour: The Celestial Assignment

TheCelestial Assignment

It's Women in Horror Month, and what better way to celebrate it than to share a new release by a wonderful author! Theresa Braun's new short story, The Celestial Assignment is available now! Check it out!

The Celestial Assignment

The Celestial Assignment
Publication Date: February 14th, 2020
Genre: Short Story/ Urban Fantasy/ Paranormal

After a sudden death, Will, a misguided angel, is tasked with protecting a baby girl. Watching over her as she grows up and navigates the world appears a harsh punishment for his past failings. Can he redeem himself, or will he fall further from grace? 

Monday, February 17, 2020

Tour: The River Jewel


For everyone who hopes to find the perfect match…

1875 Des Moines, Iowa

The novella, The River Jewel, takes readers of the bestselling Letter Series novels back in time, before there was a last letter, before the Arthurs lost everything, before they knew a girl named Pearl.

Meet Tilly Rabel, a proud oyster-woman, and Landon Lockwood, the troubled son of one of the wealthiest men in America. The two could not be less suited for love. But when an old legend draws Landon to a hidden river cove, Tilly and he find each other, are lured by growing attraction, and repelled by competing desires to control Tilly’s waters. The hidden pool is replete with valuable mussel beds and the source of everything that makes Tilly who she is. Landon sees the illustrious treasure as the path to proving to his parents he is worth their love and worthy of the Lockwood name. Can Tilly trust Landon with her heart, with her beloved mussel beds? Can Landon trust that he has truly changed and doesn’t need his parents approval to live the life he wants?

Heartbreak, triumph, and a very special baby weave a tale sure to please readers who’ve read the entire Letter Series and those who are just starting the journey.


Sunday, February 16, 2020

Sinful Sunday: The Professor





The Professor by Serena Akeroyd 
Bully Dark Romance 

Forbidden fruit always tastes that much sweeter…
He was mean.
Cold. 
Beautiful. 
But somehow charming to everyone else. 
With Phoebe, his student? He was bitter and hard. 
Until… 
He was harder. Colder. Meaner
And she had no choice but to take everything he had to give. 
A desperate act, Phoebe's tumble from grace, and a man waiting in the wings to watch her downfall. 
The Professor is no hero. No charming knight. He’s a predator stalking his prey, and Phoebe, a college student struggling to get by, just walked into his crosshairs because even monsters have needs... 
A standalone bully romance. 

*Warning: May offend or upset sensitive readers. Contains scenes with stalking.